The Goldman Prize Ceremony

The San Francisco ceremony is held at the War Memorial Opera House, the historic and beautiful home to the San Francisco Opera and Ballet, built in 1932. Over 3,000 people attend the always packed, emotion-filled event. Later that week, Prize recipients fly to the East Coast for the ceremony in Washington D.C. At the ceremonies, short documentary films provide an introduction to the Prize recipients and their accomplishments. A member of the Goldman family presents the recipients with their Ouroboros Prize statuettes, following the recipients' address to the audience. Receptions at both events feature local, organic and seasonal ingredients. We make every effort to compost and recycle all refuse from the receptions, keeping our celebration as sustainable as possible.

During their Prize tour recipients meet with influential organizations, policymakers, and the press. Key decision-makers host events to honor them. In the past Prize recipients have been received by members of the US Congress, the President of the United States, the World Bank, and ambassadors from various countries. Typically, a Goldman Prize nominating organization hosts a reception attended by Washington D.C.-based environmental organizations to pay tribute to the recipients and celebrate their environmental achievements.

The Goldman Environmental Prize greatly appreciates the many diverse organizations and individuals that have supported and recognized the growing family of Prize recipients.

CLICK HERE for photos from the 2013 Goldman Prize ceremony in San Francisco.

2013 Ceremony Videos

On April 15, 2013, more than 3,200 people gathered at San Francisco's War Memorial Opera House to honor the 2013 Goldman Environmental Prize recipients. Below are clips from the ceremony, including an introduction by Doug Goldman and acceptance speeches from each recipient. You can also watch the ceremony videos in hi-resolution on our YouTube channel.


  Welcome by Doug Goldman

  Introduction by Philippe Cousteau

  Azzam Alwash — Acceptance Speech

  Nohra Padilla — Acceptance Speech

  Jonathan Deal — Acceptance Speech

  Kyoungil Ong — Intermission Performance

  Aleta Baun — Acceptance Speech

  Rossano Ercolini — Acceptance Speech

  Kimberly Wasserman— Acceptance Speech

  Final Ovation

User is: