Ramesh Agrawal, Desmond D'Sa, Helen Slottje, Rudi Putra, Ruth Mestoquiari Buendia, Suren Gazaryan

Looking Back at the 2014 Goldman Prize Ceremony

March 25, 2015

As we prepare for the 2015 Goldman Prize ceremony on Monday, April 20, we are taking a moment to remember some of the highlights from the 2014 ceremony.

The 25th annual Goldman Environmental Prize ceremony took place on Monday, April 28, 2014 at San Francisco’s War Memorial Opera House, followed by a reception at City Hall.

Nearly 4,000 guests were inspired by the courageous stories of the 2014 Goldman Prize recipients: Desmond D’Sa from South Africa; Ramesh Agrawal from India; Suren Gazaryan from Russia; Rudi Putra from Indonesia; Helen Slottje from the United States; and Ruth Buendia from Peru.

The standing-room only event was full of surprises and specials guests, including Bonnie Raitt and Graham Nash who delivered knock-out musical performances. Graham Nash also performed at the very first Goldman Prize ceremony in 1990. Moving speeches were delivered by Master of Ceremonies Soledad O’Brien, Goldman Prize President John D. Goldman and Robert F. Kennedy Jr. You can check out all the speeches on the Goldman Prize YouTube channel by clicking HERE.

Even the stage design got a refresh for the anniversary, with a huge living wall of greenery complete with “25” spelled out in red flowers, courtesy of David Brenner and Habitat Horticulture.

After the ceremony, guests moved to City Hall where they were treated to a menu of local and organic food and drink provided by McCalls catering and Bonterra Organic Vineyards.

Just when the evening appeared to be winding down, a flash mob choreographed by Heath Hunter, accompanied by a pair of African drummers, delighted the crowd with a surprise dance performance to “Revolution in Paradise” on the marble staircase in City Hall.

Attendance to the Goldman Prize ceremony is by invitation only, but you can be part of the magic this year by tuning in to a LIVE stream of the show on the Goldman Prize YouTube channel. Mark your calendars, the event starts at 5:30pm Pacific Time on Monday, April 20.