Skip to content

Catching up with Eugene Rutagarama, Mountain Gorillas in Rwanda

August 15, 2012

A Goldman Prize staff member recently traveled to Rwanda, where she spent a few days observing mountain gorillas with Eugene Rutagarama. Rutagarama won the 2001 Goldman Prize for leading the effort to protect the critically endangered mountain gorillas in the aftermath of violent conflicts in the region.

The GEP staff member stayed at the Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge, a resort that is owned and operated by members of the community. Part of the lodge’s proceeds go toward building schools, hospitals, and creating economic opportunities for local women. Here are some photos from her trip:

IMG_2521 IMG_2413  IMG_2578 IMG_2536

Related Posts

Prize Winners Today: Cambodian Elephant Conservation with Sereivathana Tuy

January 31, 2023 – By Ellen Lomonico

Uncle Elephant They call him “Uncle Elephant.” Determined, intelligent, and kind, Sereivathana Tuy (known as “Vathana”) is everything you’d want in an uncle. He’s an ex-park ranger, National Geographic Explorer, and, most importantly, a committed conservationist who has devoted his life to protecting elephants in Cambodia. We chatted with Vathana about winning the Goldman Prize…

Read more

Prize Winners Today: How Makoma Lekalakala is Shaping South Africa's Clean Energy Transition

October 4, 2022 – By Ellen Lomonico

Meeting Environmental Justice Leader, Makoma Lekalakala Dressed in vibrant colors and a traditional VhaVenda headscarf, Makoma Lekalakala is a striking figure, even on a pixelated computer screen. It was nighttime in South Africa; Makoma joined our call having recently flown into Durban. “I go where the people are,” she shared. Sometimes that means Johannesburg, sometimes…

Read more

The Legacy of Wangari Maathai

December 1, 2021

Among the most prominent environmental activists of the last century is the late Professor Wangari Maathai, who founded the Green Belt Movement and inspired hundreds of thousands of people around the world to push for environmental progress. In commemoration of the 30th anniversary of her 1991 Goldman Prize win—and the 10th anniversary of her passing—we’re…

Read more