Skip to content

African Union Creates Official Day in Honor of Wangari Maathai

February 7, 2012

Honor and recognition keep pouring in for the late environmental hero Wangari Maathai. The 18th annual African Union Summit officially changed the name of “African Environment Day” to “Wangari Maathai Day.” The AU also created a new continental prize, the “Wangari Maathai Award for Outstanding Achievements in Environment and Biodiversity Conservation,” to promote conservation efforts throughout Africa.

Maathai founded the Green Belt Movement in 1977, an organization with tree planting at the heart of its operations, to curtail the effects of deforestation in Kenya.  Today, over 40 million trees have been planted all over the world by the Green Belt Movement. Maathai was awarded the Goldman Prize in 1991 and later went on to win the 2004 Nobel Prize.

Maathai passed away in September 2011. She was remembered with memorial services all over the world, including one hosted by the Goldman Prize in San Francisco. Her powerful legacy of peace and conservation continue to win praise.

Related Posts

Prize Winners Today: How Makoma Lekalakala is Shaping South Africa's Clean Energy Transition

October 4, 2022 – By Ellen Lomonico

Meeting Environmental Justice Leader, Makoma Lekalakala Dressed in vibrant colors and a traditional VhaVenda headscarf, Makoma Lekalakala is a striking figure, even on a pixelated computer screen. It was nighttime in South Africa; Makoma joined our call having recently flown into Durban. “I go where the people are,” she shared. Sometimes that means Johannesburg, sometimes…

Read more

Indigenous Communities: Protectors of our Forests

August 8, 2022 – By Jacqueline Kehoe

It has now become widely understood in environmental circles that Indigenous groups around the world are often the best stewards of land conservation because of their longstanding cultural, spiritual, and physical connections to their territories. August 9, is UN International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples, a day that recognizes the unique role of Indigenous…

Read more

The Legacy of Wangari Maathai

December 1, 2021

Among the most prominent environmental activists of the last century is the late Professor Wangari Maathai, who founded the Green Belt Movement and inspired hundreds of thousands of people around the world to push for environmental progress. In commemoration of the 30th anniversary of her 1991 Goldman Prize win—and the 10th anniversary of her passing—we’re…

Read more